.
  Lightstalkers
* My Profile My Galleries My Networks

Heather Faulkner

Heather Faulkner

Travel History

Profession: doc. photographer/lecture
Status: Photojournalist
Location: Brisbane , Australia
Home base: Brisbane, Australia
URL: http://www.heatherfaulkner.com.au
URL: http://www.theargus.net.au
Email: •••••••• (private)
Languages spoken: English, French, Japanese, Czech
Organization: QCA Griffith University
Journal: http://www.heatherfaulkner.com.au/blog
AIM/iChat: Heather Faulkner
Skype: Heather faulkner Heather Faulkner
Mobile phone: +61 (0)404 637 367
Emergency notes: Contact Luisa Di Girolamo.
Blood type: A+
Last login: over 3 years ago
Member since: 06 Sep 2005 22:09

About

Heather is a social documentary storyteller, ePhotojournalism lecturer and doctoral candidate at QCA, Griffith University. She is also the executive editor of the Argus (www.theargus.net.au). She has worked on assignment in Canada, USA, Japan, Austria, Cambodia, Viet Nam, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Albania, Turkey, Cambodia and other far-flung locales. Heather is the former picture editor of The Prague Post (Czech Republic). She is a member of NPPA, the Pineapple Press Club (http://pineapplepress.com.au/), the MEAA and Society for News Design. To say g’day, please drop her a line.

Testimonials


Gallery



Recent Post

Photojournalism: Rhetoric & Reality Online Symposium

Join us from 00:00 to 03:00 GMT Sunday May 9, 2010 for a live broadcast from the Head On Festival in Sydney Australia where the Centre for Documentary Practice will present a three-hour live event on photojournalism and documentary practice.

“The finest photographers produce images that ought to achieve more than a gut reaction but help us make sense of events, great and small” – John Pilger

As a discipline, Photojournalism purports to be concerned with a social justice agenda, yet often it simply perpetuates stereotypes, presenting people and issues as singularly dimensional. Presented by the Centre for Documentary Practice, this seminar will focus on the distance between the rhetoric and reality of journalism today.

The event will feature three exemplary storytellers – Angela Blakely (Australia), Shahidul Alam (Bangladesh) and Brenda Ann Kenneally (USA). The session will be introduced and chaired by David Lloyd from the Centre for Documentary Practice.

The 3 hour event will be held from 00:00 to 03:00 GMT. That’s:
Sydney: 10:00am – 1:00pm (to be part of live audience in Sydney visit Head On)
Bangkok: 7:00am -10:00am
Dhaka: 6:00am – 9:00am
London: 1:00am – 4:00am
New York 8:00pm-11:00pm (Saturday May 8)
Los Angeles: 5:00pm-8:00pm (Saturday May 8)

No registration is necessary, there will be a link from this page on the day, but if you are not on our mailing list sign-up here.

http://cdp.edu.au/cdp/conferences-and-events

06 May 2010 11:05 | 1 replies

Keywords


More about sponsorship→

Personal Network

Top↑ | RSS/XML | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | support@lightstalkers.org / ©2004-2014 November Eleven