* My Profile My Galleries My Networks

2011 Kurt Schork Award in International Journalism


June 1, 2011
Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF)

Submissions are now open for this year’s Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism, honoring international freelance reporting and local journalists who face risks in covering the news.

Named in honor of the American freelance journalist killed in a military ambush while on assignment for Reuters in Sierra Leone in 2000, the awards are made annually by the Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF).

Now in its 10 year, entries are being accepted for two categories: freelance journalists covering international news and local reporters covering events in their home country or region. Each winner receives a cash prize of USD$5,000, awarded at a ceremony in London in November.

The stories can be about conflict, human rights, cross-border issues or any controversial matter in a particular country or region. Each submission must demonstrate professionalism, meet international journalistic standards and provide evidence that courage and determination were required to cover the story.

2010 winners were Adrian Mogos (Romania) for his stories on the new slave trade in Eastern Europe and UK freelancer Stephen Gray.

by teru kuwayama at 2011-04-07 21:04:42 UTC | Bookmark | | Report spam→

01 Jun 2011 00:06

Get notified when someone replies to this thread:
Feed-icon-10x10 via RSS
Icon_email via email
You can unsubscribe later.

More about sponsorship→


teru kuwayama, I/O teru kuwayama
New York , United States


Top↑ | RSS/XML | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | support@lightstalkers.org / ©2004-2015 November Eleven