.
  Lightstalkers
* My Profile My Galleries My Networks

Critical opinions wanted

Hi Good Folks!
I’m new to this board, but was recommended by an existing member. I am due to start a Commercial Photography Foundation course next September and despite having a website, I have no idea where my strengths and weaknesses are in photography and would like to concentrate my efforts towards one area, which at the moment is leaning towards wildlife. The website is “http://www.tikephotos.org” and was set up to have somewhere to display my efforts, rather than sell them. If anyone has the time, I would be very grateful for any guidance, criticism, encouragement and have a thick skin, so bring it on gentle folk !

by Tim Key at 2007-11-13 19:30:20 UTC (ed. Mar 12 2008 ) Derby , United Kingdom | Bookmark | | Report spam→

try Flickr’s infamous DeleteMe! group. Think they’re what you’re looking for

by Con O'Donoghue | 13 Nov 2007 20:11 | Barcelona, Spain | | Report spam→
Thank you for the thought, but I am hoping to get opinions from my peers, not from somewhere which resembles ’I’m a celebrity…‘. I have been taking photographs for in excess of 20 years, but have never had critical opinions of my work to date. I’ve sold a few images over the years, but would like the opinions of people who doc this for a living please.
Best regards
Tim

by Tim Key | 13 Nov 2007 20:11 | Derby, United Kingdom | | Report spam→
Tumbleweed…..seems the ‘gentle folk’ at LS don’t want to put their heads above the parapet Tim,(apart from Con who is always very polite).
The wildlife stuff does look the best to me too, but that is a really difficult and competitive area to find work in. You would have to raise your game considerably to even stand a chance in that area.
The commercial photography foundation course should show you the way forward if it’s any good.
In the meantime, (and if you haven’t already), try reading the books by Stephen Dalton for inspiration-a superb photographer and one of the people who persuaded me to go freelance and give up my cushy staff job!
Here are a few examples….. http://db2.photoresearchers.com/feature/infocus15

There’s even one for Lightstalker Imants in there-of a flying gecko !

by JR, (John Watts-Robertson). | 14 Nov 2007 08:11 (ed. Nov 14 2007) | somewhere, United Kingdom | | Report spam→
John,
many thanks for the reply, it i much appreciated. I am hoping the course will give me a solid foundation to work on and enable me to build on the expertise I already have. Whilst I believe in my own abilities as a photographer, I always think it’s difficult to critically assess your own work beyond it being the best you can do. I shall certainly have a look for the books as well.
Best regards, Tim

by Tim Key | 14 Nov 2007 19:11 (ed. Nov 14 2007) | Derby, United Kingdom | | Report spam→
Tim

If i can be brutally honest I gotta say that if you want to pursue a photo career in the natural history field you’re going to do a lot better
than shooting captive species in zoos and local parks.

It’s akin to a photojournalist shooting breaking news off of a television screen,in my opinion.

You appear to have a good base in composition and photo technique but there is unbelievably compelling wildlife content being produced daily by
ultra committed individuals who are devoting huge amounts of time and resources to document their chosen subject.

If you want to compete with these people,on a commercial level, you’re going to have to match or exceed their committment and knowledge of their subject.

by [former member] | 14 Nov 2007 19:11 | Montreal, Canada | | Report spam→
Mark, I would agree with you whole-heartedly. I would particularly like to specialise in insects and smaller wildlife which is something new to me. Like most things in this world, it’s a steep learning curve but look forward to getting there. thank you for your constructive thoughts. Best regards Tim

by Tim Key | 14 Nov 2007 19:11 | Derby, United Kingdom | | Report spam→
Anything is possible if you try hard enough. Having said that I failed to get any further than a board interview at BBC Wildlife Unit, Bristol-so I obviously didn’t follow my own advice !! Mark is right and like I said before, it really is a very competitive area to work in. The BBC television programme ‘The Nature of Britain’ on at the moment shows the level of photographic skill needed. Mind you-even that programme has been criticized for stunting up a shot of a fox ‘in the rain’-actually a tame one under a hosepipe!

by JR, (John Watts-Robertson). | 14 Nov 2007 21:11 | somewhere, United Kingdom | | Report spam→
I have been told that it is very competitive, but oddly enough only got into it as my wife is doing a zoology degree… Whether that will open doors in time, I’m not sure but I am always watching for opportunities. I shan’t be giving up my day job just yet though!

by Tim Key | 15 Nov 2007 11:11 | Derby, United Kingdom | | Report spam→

Get notified when someone replies to this thread:
Feed-icon-10x10 via RSS
Recommended
Icon_email via email
You can unsubscribe later.

More about sponsorship→

Participants

Tim Key, Tim Key
(www.tikephotos.org)
Derby , United Kingdom
Con O'Donoghue, Photographer Con O'Donoghue
Photographer
Dublin , Ireland
JR, (John Watts-Robertson)., Photographer JR, (John Watts-Robertson).
Photographer
Rothwell , United Kingdom


Keywords

Top↑ | RSS/XML | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | support@lightstalkers.org / ©2004-2014 November Eleven