* My Profile My Galleries My Networks

The Digital Storymakers Award


The Digital Storymakers Award is presented to students who have new and exciting ways of telling us about the world. We’re looking for nonfiction multimedia stories that are told with a mix of text, images, sound, interactive game play, or any other media. Maybe you’ve already created a story that fits that description or maybe you want to try. In either case, if you’re a student and you want to tell a nonfiction, multimedia story we want to see your work.

This award is for nonfiction stories. It is your responsibility to make sure your story is fact-based and true. Stories can be on any nonfiction topic, including: science, culture, economics, politics, biography, and memoir. Entrants are responsible for verifying their stories and documenting their sources.

Who Can Enter
To enter you must be a student enrolled in a high school (or equivalent), undergraduate, or graduate degree-granting program in the United States upon registration for the award. Those studying journalism, writing, documentary film or video, photography, graphic or visual arts are especially encouraged to apply.

Submissions may be by an individual or team. In the event a team wins the Grand Prize the division of the prize money will be determined by the team.

There are separate awards for high school, college, and graduate students.

9 Grand Prizes will be awarded: 3 for high schools students, 3 for undergraduates, and 3 for graduate students.

In addition, 27 finalists will be chosen.

All decisions by the judges are final. For more information, see the complete rules.

Grand Prize
There will be one Grand Prize per category (long form, short form, or visual) in each educational group: high school, undergraduate, and graduate school.

Grand Prize winners will receive a $5,000 cash prize, publication in a special Digital Storymakers Award App and an invitation to a free two-day boot camp in NYC during the summer of 2013, where they will work with Atavist staff and guest authors/creators to polish their digital storymaking skills.

There will be 3 finalists in each educational group for each category for a total of 27 finalists. All finalists will be published in the special Digital Storymakers Award App.

You Can Enter In One of Three Categories
You can enter a digital story in one of three categories. The categories are:

Long form (text-based, over 5,000 words)
Short form (text-based, 1, 500 to 5,000 words)
Visual (image-based stories)
Even though the first two categories are text-based, all entries must include at least three forms of media, including: text, audio, video, photos, illustrations, animation, and interactive graphics. You do not have to decide on your category until you complete and submit your entry. However, we strongly suggest that you plan your story with one category in mind.

Special Online Authoring Tools
All entries for the Digital Storymakers Award must be created using the Atavist authoring platform. This platform is available free to all students who apply for the award. It is also available free to participating educators.

How to Enter
To enter the contest you must fill out the registration form.

After you register you will receive an email with instructions on getting access to the Atavist authoring platform.


Entries for the 2013 Digital Storymakers Award will be accepted starting January 1, 2013. The deadline for submissions is midnight, April 15, 2013.

by teru kuwayama at 2013-03-14 01:03:18 UTC | Bookmark | | Report spam→

15 Apr 2013 00:04

by Damaso Reyes | 15 Mar 2013 17:03 | Barcelona, Spain | | Report spam→

Get notified when someone replies to this thread:
Feed-icon-10x10 via RSS
Icon_email via email
You can unsubscribe later.

More about sponsorship→


teru kuwayama, I/O teru kuwayama
New York , United States
Damaso Reyes, Photojournalist Damaso Reyes
Barcelona , Spain ( BCN )


Top↑ | RSS/XML | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | support@lightstalkers.org / ©2004-2015 November Eleven